Deciding to become a real estate agent is a big decision. Those living and working in the state of Arkansas are covered by the rules that have been set up to get a real estate license in the state of Arkansas by the AREC (Arkansas Real Estate Commission). You will be joining the thousands of real estate agents doing business in Arkansas.
Getting a real estate license in Arkansas
The following are the requirements in the state of Arkansas
- Applicants must be 18 years of age
- Pass a criminal background check
- Must complete and pass 60 hours of real estate classes of which, 30 hours of the classroom time needs to be basic real estate principles
- The classes must be from an accredited school or organization approved by the state of Arkansas Real Estate Commission
- Pass the exam to get licensed with a grade of 70 or more
- Send the correct fees and forms to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission within 90 days after the exam is completed and passed
The Arkansas Real Estate Commission has a list of the schools that offer both pre-licensing courses and continuing education courses. They include both brick and mortar schools and online career education. Typically the course will include Real Estate License Law, as well as courses covering the rules and regulations that have been set out by AREC. With a school like Arkansas Real Estate School options are offered, classrooms are available in several cities but the online option is also available. You can choose whichever works best for you.
Taking the licensing test
You begin by filling out the Application for Real Estate License Examination to take the exam. You must include the fingerprint card as well as the fee of $86.25. $50 is the application fee, $22 for the background check by the Arkansas State Police and $14.25 for the FBI background check. You can submit your application before the completion of the 60-hour real estate course but will be required to show proof of completing and passing before being allowed to sit for the exam. Submit the above to AREC and they will mail you a Certificate of Examination Eligibility. When you receive it you can move forward.
To book your examination with Pearson VUE
- Create an account and you will be assigned a password
- Have your social security number
- Know the name of the exam you want to take
- Determine the date and test center you want (there are six centers where the exam may be taken)
- Have the information from the Certificate of Examination Eligibility from AREC
- Pay the exam fee of $75
Day of exam
- Two forms of ID one of which must be government-issued and include a photo and signature
- Certificate of Examination Eligibility
- Arrive 30 minutes before the exam
- Get photographed
- Sign the Candidate Rules Agreement
- No personal items allowed in the test area
- The test includes two-part, national (80 questions) and Arkansas (30 questions) both parts require a 70 to pass
- At the completion of the exam, the applicant will receive a pass or fail grade
- Candidates who pass will receive a score report that includes information on how to apply for a license
The real estate license will not be issued until the results of the criminal background checks have been received by the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. The licensing fee is $75. It is now time to find a real estate firm to work for and activate your license.
Post license education
Once the license is issued, new salespeople have six months to complete 18 hours of additional classroom study. This post-license education must take place after the license is issued, not before. This is a requirement of the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. Specific classes need to be taken as determined by AREC and these are the only courses that can complete this requirement.
After the initial period of licensure, the required continuing education for year two and beyond is seven hours per year. The AREC has set guidelines for what is required and what is elective. For 2019, three hours of advertising and one hour of safety classes are required, the final three hours are elective. The requirements change yearly.