How to get a real estate license in Michigan
The process to get a Michigan real estate license is easy if you follow some simple steps. Before you get started, make sure you are eligible so you don’t end up wasting your time. In order to obtain a real estate license in Michigan and become a real estate salesperson, you need to be at least 18 years of age and either be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident. Higher education is not required as part of the education requirements, but you will need to prove that you either graduated from high school or at least have a high school equivalency.
Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals Course
Your first step after making sure you are eligible to become a real estate agent is to find and enroll in a 40 hour Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals Course. There are exam prep packages and online courses which will help you learn the material. The State of Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) has a list of approved courses which it will accept to meet this qualification. Included in the course material will be at least 4 hours of civil rights law, with an emphasis on equal opportunity in housing. Depending on which course you choose, you may have up to six months to work through the material. Real estate licensing is regulated by the state, and you can get most of your questions answered on the LARA website.
Your Real Estate License Application
After you pass your course in real estate fundamentals, you are finally allowed to fill out and submit your application to get your real estate license. The application and fee are good for a year, but if you have gone past that time without testing you will have to reapply. You can find the application on the LARA website, where you will create an account so you can log in and take care of your license. This is also the website where you can notify LARA of changes and renew your license. Currently, the fee for the application is $88.
Wait for Authorization
Once you have turned in proof of education and submitted your application, you will need to wait until you get an email from the State of Michigan LARA before you take the next step, which is to register for your exam. This may be a good time to start thinking about who will be your sponsoring real estate broker. If you are serious about your real estate career, you may already have contacts and supports within the profession.
Take the Michigan Salesperson Licensing Exam
Register for your final exam at PSI Exams Online. Psychological Services, Inc. offers exams in several states for several different professions, including the Michigan real estate licensing exam. The real estate salesperson exam is scheduled to last 180 minutes and currently costs $79, and the fee to retake the test is also currently $79. Make an account and provide your personal information so you can register on the website. If you need to reschedule or cancel, PSI requires you to notify them two days in advance. There are testing centers in multiple cities, including Holt, Gaylord, Grand Rapids, and Dearborn. You can also use the PSI site to ask for special accommodations, and there are practice tests available which will help you become better prepared for the test.
You should arrive at the testing center 30 minutes early, and make sure you understand beforehand what kind of identification you will be expected to bring. Different testing locations have different rules so it’s better to read your written instructions carefully. You are not allowed to bring food or drink into the testing center, but there are usually only about 10 applicants in a room at once and the room is quiet. Because the test is on a computer, most people will know their results immediately.
Get an Employing Broker Sponsor
Even after you pass the licensing exam, you can’t immediately go out and start selling real estate on your own. You need to find a sponsor who is a licensed Michigan Employing Broker. You can either make your original application with a broker sponsor if you already have someone willing to sponsor you. If you know who your sponsor will be at least 48 hours before the exam, you can get your photo license when you are still at the exam site, as soon as you have successfully passed the test. Even if you did not know which real estate broker you would be using before you took the exam, you can always still provide that information to the State of Michigan through the LARA website.
You will still need to keep taking classes so you can keep up with what you need to know even after you have obtained your license. Michigan has a 3-year cycle which starts and ends at the same time for everyone. This current cycle started on November 1, 2018, and will end on October 31, 2021. During that three year time period, you will need to get 18 hours worth of credit.
The State of Michigan is no longer keeping track of this information for individuals, so it is important for you to keep track of your requirements and make sure you meet your obligations in a timely manner. As of November 1, 2018, classes won’t meet the requirements unless they are certified by CE Marketplace. CE Marketplace will assist you in finding the right classes and offers a free tracking service to help you keep track of your certified credits.
Don’t forget that you will need to renew your license every 3 years at the michigan.gov website. You are responsible for making sure your education is up to date and your fees are paid.